Durga Puja

 Durga Puja in Bangalore
 Durga Puja in Dhaka
 Durga Puja in Agartala
 Durga Puja in Hyderabad
 Durga Puja in Mumbai
 Durga Puja in Nepal
 Durga Puja in Siliguri
 Durga Puja in Orissa
 Durga Puja in Pune
 Durga Puja in Russia
 Durga Puja in Germany
 Durga Puja in New Zealand
 Durga Puja in Australia
 Durga Puja in Canada
 Durga Puja in USA
 Durga Puja in India
 Durga Puja in Chennai
 Durga Puja in Kolkata
 Durga Puja in Delhi
 Durga Puja in Shillong
 Durga Puja in Patna
 Durga Puja in Silchar
 Durga Puja in Singapore
 Durga Puja in UK
 Durga Puja in Bangladesh
 Durga Puja Blog

Durga Puja Celebrations


2017 Durga Puja in India

The festival of Durga Puja is celebrated to remember the victory of good over bad. It denotes victory of goddess Durga over demon Mahishasura. It also symbols death of demon Ravan, at hands of Ram. The whole festival continues for 10 days, and each day has its own significance.

The Durga pooja isn’t restricted to one geographical region in India. The pooja is celebrated with great display, in the whole country. Over the years, celebrations have absorbed the local traditions and customs. So, now the celebrations are unique for every part in the country in which they are held.


In Maharashtra, Durga pooja is celebrated as cheerful occasion. A pooja is executed on Navratri’s all nine days. Everyday, a fresh festoon is put on image or idol of Goddess Durga, without removing previous days’ festoons. After ending Navratri, all nine festoons are removed collectively.

West Bengal

In West Bengal, Durga pooja is distinguished with great splendor and grandeur. Main festivities are performed for five days. This festive period is in honor of Mahalaya, a day when Durga was given the job of beating Mahishasura. The pooja is also famous as 'Akal Bodhan' or early incantation.


Durga pooja festivals are measured as a favorable time. Children ageing between 3 and 5 years are officially introduced to education in this time. While celebrations are celebrated in temples for 10 days, the last 3 days are believed to be most important. Ninth day, which is known as Navami, is devoted to Goddess Saraswati. People also visit Kottayam’s Saraswati temple at this time.


In Kashmir, celebrations aren’t as majestic as in other parts of country. On Navratri’s first day, barley seeds are deposited in pots. By 10th day, they develop to around 5 inches. People think that good growth is symbolic of wealth during the year. Kashmiri pandits visit temple of Goddess Kheer Bhawani, during all nine days.


In Gujarat, celebrations are centered on 'Ambe Maa', which is amongst the appearances of Durga. Deities or images of Goddess are devoted in temples and households. Public celebrations are held in form ‘Dandiya’ and ‘Garba’ which are the conventional folk dances. These dances carry on for Navratri (nine nights) in open grounds as well as streets.

Durga Puja 2013 Calender and Dates
09th October 2013 Durga Puja – Panchami
10th October 2013 Durga Puja – Sasthi
11st October 2013 Durga Puja – Saptami
12nd October 2013 Durga Puja – Mahashtami
33rd October 2013 Durga Puja – Navami
14th October 2013 Durga Puja – Vijaya Dasami

Also visit www.protibeshi.com

Durga Puja in India Durga Puja in Kolkata Durga Puja in Silchar Durga Puja in Delhi Location Address Pandal Venue Mandap




Copyright © silchartoday.com  All Rights reserved. 2003-2015 Home